Young Adult Epic Fantasy – WHAM! by Carol Marrs Phipps (A Review)

Wham, by Carol Marrs Phipps is a book that crept up on me as I was reading it. My initial issues with a language that was difficult to understand and relate to (Niarg) soon turned to awe at the amount of work this author had clearly put in to create the amazing world in which Wham is set. At its essence, Wham is a Young Adult Epic Fantasy adventure. It follows the exploits, principally of two sisters, Nia and Thess, who, in their own ways come to realise and understand they are actually fairies, with a vast, undiscovered and unrelated past and history.There are many characters in this story who are fascinating and certainly deserve more exposition, however, it came as no surprise to find that Wham was, in fact, part of a large collection of books focusing on this world she had created.I did, at times, find the reading a little slow, especially when characters speaking in Niarg or even Troll, were talking. I had to stop and try and decipher what exactly they were saying. In reality, though, I think this was actually quite a good thing as it kept my attention fully on the narrative.Wham definitely did make me want to read more of the rest of the collection, as I am sure it would give a much broader picture of the world and its history, some of which was touched on n Wham, but I suspect there is so much more to know.The writing was excellent, the pace steady and the characters, especially Nia and Thess, easy to like, to understand and to empathise with. Pandora, the Potentate was one fascinating character that I’d love to read more about. One big element of this story is the predominance of strong, independent and feisty young women, who make exceptionally good role models.All in all, Wham is a winner within its genre and a book and probably a series well worth delving into.A solid, five-star read in my opinion. Why not pop on over to my website and check out the many hundreds of books I’ve read and reviewed? Who knows, you just might find your next blockbuster read there: http://www.grantleishman.com/book-reviews1.html

Source: Young Adult Epic Fantasy – WHAM! by Carol Marrs Phipps (A Review)

Leave a Reply

