She Lights Up the Dark by A. M. Manay (A Review)

To be honest, vampires, werewolves, fairies, and the ilk have never been my favourite choice of reading material, but I was so glad I didn’t let that stop me from trying She Lights Up The Dark, by A. M. Manay. This is a superb novel and one I enjoyed immensely.Having not read the first book in the series was no great issue for me in reading this story. Manay introduced me to a range of characters that were fascinating, to say the least. It took me a little time to get my head around who was who and what type of fantasy creature they were, but it was full steam ahead after that. The heroine of the story, November Snow, is a recently turned vampire who is struggling with adapting to her new life as a Vampire. The supporting characters in this story are a fascinating bunch of vampires, werewolves, and fairies, who all have their place within this tale. I particularly enjoyed the two arch-enemy antagonists, Nigel and Luka. Both characters display traits that at times make the reader despise and hate them and yet at other times empathise with their positions.One of the great things about this story, in my opinion, was the idea that the different species, including humans, didn’t have to live in a state of perpetual ignorance, or fear, of each other. The idea of love between the species and even interbreeding was indeed intriguing.I found Manay’s writing to be very clear, straightforward and easy to read. She Lights Up the Dark was indeed one of those books that was impossible to put down. I just had to know what happened next. With a nice cliffhanger, it will be great to see what Book 3 in the series has to offer. I, for one, will be popping back to read Book One and discover more about November Snow, before she became a Vampire.This is the sort of book that has the potential to open up the genre to people who might not have considered it, their “cup of tea” before. Kudos to Manay for that. A great book and well worth every one of the five stars I’ve awarded it.

Source: She Lights Up the Dark by A. M. Manay (A Review)

Leave a Reply

