That Feel-Good Feeling

There are times when being an author can be one of the loneliest and most soul-searching of occupations (I’m sure fellow authors will get where I’m coming from here), but every so often, something will happen that makes it all worthwhile. 
Picture
That something doesn’t have to be massive, like a #1 Best-Seller, or anything quite as dramatic as that (although that would be lovely). Nope, what keeps us going are the little things. The email that says: “thanks for reviewing my book”, or “read your book and loved it”; perhaps it’s the review posted by a stranger that makes you stop and smile; or maybe it is just someone going out of their way to retweet or repost one of your social media posts.

These are the things that truly make an Author’s day.
In this past week, I’ve been blessed enough to have many of these things happen and I’d just love to share one of them with you today. Perhaps after you’ve read this you’ll understand how easy it is to please some Authors (well, this one anyway!) 

Picture

One of the services I offer on my website is that of proofreading. The whole idea was to try and make a little money supplementing my writing income by helping fellow “indie” authors out with a bit of inexpensive proofreading.
Now, I have no illusion as to my own abilities in this area. I’m not a professional editor, I’m not an English major, and most people say I’m obsessed with commas, but I do have some experience as a newspaper reporter, that has helped me hone my skills at spotting errors in typewritten stories.
So, I offered my services to the world and to date nobody has applied, but that’s fine. I’m good with that. More time for me to write.
I do, however, proofread for a good friend of mine, a crazy Welshman, who is a master story-teller, by the name of Colin Griffiths (Check him out). amzn.to/2a8nYHa
I did put my name on his last book, Someone Else’s Dream, as the editor of record, so I guess that is the best testimonial for my work. 

Picture

You can check out Someone Else’s Dream here:    

 So, to the point of my story – my feel-good moment. Yesterday I opened my FaceBook and this is what I saw; a poem from the said grumpy, grizzly, half-lucid, crazy, semi-literate, wonderful, wonderful, Welshman; Colin Griffiths: 
There’s this famous editor I know ,
I just give him a nod and he says go,
He looks at my words with a smile on his lips,
He gives them a turn, he gives them a 
twist,
He checks my narratives and takes them away,
And returns them saying what I want them to say,
He looks at the scene, he looks at my style,
The changes he makes, go that extra mile,
When he sends it back, saying all is done,
I think of the book, and the award that I won,
He’s says he’s not special, just does what I can’t,
You may not know of him, well his name is Grant

Thank you mate

 

So, what makes an Author’s day? What makes all the blood, sweat and tears worthwhile?

THAT DOES!Picture

Thank you, thank you, thank you, from the bottom of my heart. (Maraming, Maraming, Salamat Po!)
I now understand what the term “bromance” means and I think we are rapidly
having one. Even my darling wife asked me last night if she should be jealous?
I told her – “absolutely!”   


Till we meet again, I shall bask in this awesome feeling of having achieved something special and wish you all a wonderful, peace-filled day!  

CHOOSE TO BE HAPPY!

EMBRACE THE OPPORTUNITIES LIFE PRESENTS TO YOU AND ALWAYS, ALWAYS FOLLOW YOUR DREAMS! 

HAVE A GREAT LIFE AND SPREAD THE LOVE! 

CHANGING THE WORLD – ONE READER AT A TIME

Leave a Reply

